Welcome to Shpyrko Group at UCSD!

Shpyrko Group, May 2016
Shpyrko group, May 2016

Shpyrko Group, March 2013

Past group photos

We are experimental condensed matter physics group in the Department of Physics at the University of California, San Diego. Our group studies nanoscale dynamics and structure of materials - splitting our interest between "soft matter" and electronic/magnetic materials.

We are particularly interested in developing novel coherent x-ray scattering techniques to probe dynamics in variety of condensed matter systems, ranging from electronic and magnetic phases (charge-, spin-, orbital ordered systems, magnetic thin films and nanostructures, metal-insulator transitions and new high-temperature superconductors) to soft matter including fluids, colloids, nanoparticles, polymers and glasses as well as behavior of materials in nanoscale confinement.

Our in-house experimental capabilities include Dynamic Light Scattering and Light Microscopy laboratories, Atomic Force (AFM) and Electrostatic Force (EFM) Miroscopes, Microfocus X-ray Rotating Anode system, He flow cryostat for microscopy, Sputtering Deposition System (co-owned with Prof. Eric Fullerton). We also use a number of National Laboratory User Facilities, including Advanced Photon Source and Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Lab, Advanced Light Source at Berkeley Lab, Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge, as well as plans to use Linac Coherent Light Source at Stanford, National Synchrotron Light Source-II at Brookhaven and other facilities in US and Europe.

Our group's research is generously supported by Department of Energy (Basic Energy Sciences), National Science Foundation (CAREER), Air Fource Office of Scientific Research, Argonne LDRD and Hellman Foundation.

News Updates:

Future is bright: These new research directions are especially exciting in view of recent developments in coherent fourth generation synchrotron sources, such as X-ray Free Electron Lasers and Energy Recovery Linacs.

Selected Publications:

"Topological defect dynamics in operando battery nanoparticles" A. Ulvestad, A. Singer, J. N. Clark, H. M. Cho, J. W. Kim, R. Harder, J. Maser, Y. S. Meng,and O. G. Shpyrko, Science 348 (6241), 1344-1347 (2015)

K. Alvine et al., Capillary Wave Dynamics of Thin Polymer Films over Submerged Nanostructures Phys. Rev. Lett. 109, 207801 (2012)

A. Tripathi et al., Dichroic Coherent Diffractive Imaging PNAS, 108 (33), 13393 (2011)

O. G. Shpyrko et al., "Direct measurement of antiferromagnetic domain fluctuations" Nature 447, 68 (2007)

O. G. Shpyrko et al., "Surface Crystallization in a Liquid AuSi Alloy"
Science 313, 77 (2006)

You are welcome to read more about our research directions and facilities we use, browse our publication list, check out our research in the news, as well as our group portal and contact info.

x-ray speckle reveals nanoscale spin dynamics
X-ray Speckle reveals nanoscale spin dynamics